June 22, 2022

Mass Communication Students' Association Takes off

Mass Communication Students' Association Takes off
Mass Communication Students' Association Takes off

    The Mass Communication Departmental   Association was officially inaugurated in a ceremony held at the College of Humanities Management and Social Sciences’ Big   Lecture Theatre on Wednesday, December 8th,   2021.       


The main purpose of the meeting was to inaugurate the first set of the departmental executive members and to explain what their roles are to the student body.  The meeting kicked off with the Master of Ceremony, Kosisochukwu Okereke, inviting Adebayo   Fisayo for the opening prayer. Ubah Gift led in singing the national and school anthems.

The welcome address was given by Dr. Kenneth Udeh, the staff adviser, who said that the executive members have been approved by the Students' Affairs unit. The Head of the Department, Professor Babatude Oni, in his remarks, said that the executive members were not elected but selected using certain criteria and were duly approved by the Students’ Affairs   Unit. Also, he emphasized that the departmental association is a way for the students to express themselves.  Members of the executive and the position they   occupy are as follows:  

  1. President - Oladele, Precious Judah  
  2. Vice- President - Moyinoluwa Jesuloba  
  3. General Secretary - Aminu Favour  
  4. Assistant General Secretary - Festus Comfort  
  5. Academic Director - Gloria Bamigbaye  
  6. Assistant Academic Director - Afeme Dorcas  
  7. Welfare Director - Oluwafunbi Ige  
  8. Assistant Welfare Director - Uzochukwu Shalom  
  9. Financial Director - Okiche Chioma  
  10. Public Relations Officer - Apeji Omeiza  
  11. Assistant Public Relations Officer - Idaresit Oluwatoyosi  
  12. Social Director - Tolani Ayomide  
  13. Assistant Social Director - Osisanya Oluwapelumi  
  14. Sports Director - Oyindamola Olawuyi  
  15. Assistant Sports Director - Janet Olubi  
  16. They were later led to take the oath of office by Mrs. S.   F. Richard. A vote of thanks and closing remarks were given by the President,   Oladele, and Precious Judah. He further explained the Executive Manifesto to the members of the department.  

Some of the items on the manifesto include:  

  1. Bringing together and organizing the department all segments of the department effectively.  
  2. Raising the standard of academic excellence.  
  3. Forming a partnership between the Excos and members of the department.

    It is hoped that the association will be at the forefront   of bringing great development ideas to the department   as well as foster good relationships and collaborations  between the association and its counterparts in other   institutions